Photo

Reel Bearing Slop (Bearing Vs. Reel Cup).

servicing gear noise meshing grinding smooth

• Please log in to reply
17 replies to this topic

#1 Slazmo

Slazmo
  • Members
  • 12 posts

Posted 31 July 2013 - 09:58 PM

Hi guys,

First post so be kind  :thumbsu:

I have been servicing my own reels for as many years as I can remember and I am part of some forums back in Aus and I have been in touch with Allan over this issue and thought that I would take the dive and migrate the photo's onto this site for both Allan's review and others with the same issues at hand.

Primarily I am fixated on 'smooth' reels - I like gears to be perfectly meshed and reels that perform day in and year out. I like to keep my reels in their best working order and always up to the task of fishing - but who doesnt?

Anyhow the issue was that I purchased a brand new (out of the cabinet) Shimano Stradic 4000F Ci4 (Australian Landed) reel, this was the last specimen of its kind at the store and could not be compared to any others or swapped. It was suffering from some bad gear noise straight out of the box. I opened it up and it was greased with OEM products and so forth. I noticed that there was a lot of bearing slop with the bearing seated in their cups - this from both drive gear bearings and the rotor bearing. The culmination of these three bearings and their associated slop made for the reel to be noisy both in use and in sound.

I spoke to Allan after I tried my stage 1 fix with Glad Wrap (Cling Film) - however I felt that this needed a more stable and longer lasting fix. I tried Aluminium foil (would have liked to get marine quality shim paper) however wrapping this finely around the bearings proved to be completely reliable and successful!

Some of the photo's of the Stradic's internal quality issues with "bearing slop".